My 8 Goals as an aspiring Indie Author

My short story, Alternate, will be ready to publish in a few weeks.

I’m getting very excited and anxious to have a finished product out there, finally. And now I’m facing the daunting reality of something all writers face in the final stages of publishing: hopes and expectations.

To start off, I’d just like to say I’m a very optimistic guy. I believe the term”realist” is just another word for pessimist. I try to stray away from negativity or people who constantly go out of their way to just be negative. That’s not the type of person I am. I believe in happiness and positivity, even if times are bad or the chances of success are low. It might just be fool’s wishing, but I believe in believing in the good in people and the good of any situation.

With writing, it’s good to be cautious about your expectations. You don’t want to start hoping for bestseller lists if you’re just starting out. That’s where people get hurt, get disappointed, have doubts about themselves. At a time so close to publishing, I have to remind myself to be humble. The simple fact that my friends and family will download and read my story is amazing in itself. Anything else is bonus.

So I thought I’d remind myself of the goals by putting them out there in a list. You’re welcome to use it:

Short Term:

1) Finish a manuscript in a month. (Check)

2) Get professional editing, formatting, and cover design. (Check)

3) Publish! (Coming in November)

4) Win NaNoWriMo

Long Term:

5) Finish 5 manuscripts, including one novel, within a year (Wish me luck)

6) Publish the novel within a year

7) Have 100 people read your stories

8) Take a nice, long break, perhaps a month or two. Then repeat the process.

The bonus goal is to enjoy the ride. Celebrate everything. Even the little things.

And the last one, maybe my most important one, is to keep your eyes on the dreams. Those earth shaking, universe shattering, life changing dreams that only you can see. Those fools’ wishes that the realists say can’t be done. But that’s for another list and another post. Stay tuned.

4 thoughts on “My 8 Goals as an aspiring Indie Author

  1. You can do it. I say that having failed to hit a whole bunch of goals myself, but meh. I hit some other ones, and it’s a great feel.

    Only thing I’ll say is, personally I wouldn’t take the break. Let yourself work on whatever you feel like for a while. Read a heap instead. But whatever you do, don’t stop writing altogether. Momentum is your friend!
    Good luck, mate. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think your goals are brilliant. In Feb I set out a goal to write my first ms and to have it self published or ready for submission before the end of the year….a month ago I sent it to a publisher and now fingers crossed….where there’s a will there’s a way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

