Gary Smailes and why mailing lists are awesome

Before I ever thought of starting a blog, I regularly went over to my favorite author’s blogs and checked up on what they were up to. This was done purely as a fan, but what I didn’t realize was that I was unintentionally learning from the best. I signed up for their newsletters, keeping up to date with them, finding about promotions and cool deals, and all the cool stuff that comes along with following an author.

I recently signed up for Gary Smailes’s newsletter, and within a week, my writing has already benefited from it. He sent his list a link to a promotion that was going on about this book that was on sale for free called 1,000 Awesome Writing Prompts. I figured I’d get it, because why not? It was free. I had never used prompts before, but after downloading it, I can already see how this is going to help my writing. They’re great for planting scenarios in your head, making you think about scenes you might not have thought about before. Awesome tool if you just want to sit down and write to get those creative juices flowing!

So as you can see, had I not signed up for Gary’s mailing list, I probably never would’ve heard or gave that book a chance to be honest. But now I’m glad I did. For any other upstart authors out there like me, I suggest you sign up for your favorite authors’ mailing lists and start one of your own. It’s a great a tool to stay connected with your readers.

You can check out Gary’s awesome book editing site here.

And you can also sign up for my mailing list here.

Happy writing guys!

Leave a Reply

